JEE Mains And Advanced

Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) are institutions of national importance establishedthrough an Act of Parliament for fostering excellence in education. There are sixteenIITs at present, located at Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Delhi, Gandhinagar, Guwahati,Hyderabad,Nagpur, Indore, Jodhpur, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Mandi, Mumbai, Patna, Ropar,Roorkee and Varanasi. Over the years IITs have created world class educationalplatform that is dynamically sustained through quality teaching and internationallyacclaimed research with excellent infrastructure and the best available minds.

The Joint Entrance Examination (Advanced) will be conducted by seven zonalIITs (under the directives of the Joint Admission Board) for admission to the undergraduate programmers in all IITs and ISM Dhanbad. Only the top 1,50,000 candidates (including all categories) based on their scores in Paper-1 of JEE (Main) will be eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced). JEE (Main) will be conducted by CBSE on behalf of the JEE Apex Board (both online and offline modes). For details of JEE (Main), candidates are advised to visit

Type of Examination

In JEE (Advanced), there will be two papers, each of three hours duration. The question papers will be printed separately in English and Hindi. Candidates have to specify their choice of question paper language at the time of online registration for JEE (Advanced). Each of the question papers will consist of three separate parts in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. The detailed syllabus are given in APPENDIX-1.
The questions will be of objective (multiple choice) type, designed to test comprehension, reasoning and analytical ability of candidates. In some sections, incorrect answers  may be awarded with negative marks.